Higher Education

Higher Education

UGC-recognized universities to fall under 3 categories

PUBLISH DATE 6th June 2017

The universities recognized by the University Grant Commission (UGC) will soon be divided into three distinct categories based on parameters related to ranking and evaluation by national-level bodies.

The proposed measure, which has been welcomed by experts, is part of the draft UGC (Categorization of Universities for Grant of Graded Autonomy) Regulations 2017.

The state universities, along with private and deemed universities, would get covered under the new regulations, which will give weightage to standing of institution in evaluation and rating by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) and National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF).

According to the proposed regulations, category I will comprise universities that have either been accredited by NAAC with a score of at least 3.5 or ranked in the top 50 institutions under the NIRF for two consecutive years. The universities should either have been accredited by NAAC with a score between 3.01 and 3.49 or ranked between 51 and 100 in the NIRF ranking to find a place in category II. Varsities failing to find place in top two categories will be put in category III.

As per the regulations, top two category universities would be automatically `deemed to be' under section 12B of the UGC Act and would not be subjected to any inspection for declaring the same. Category I Institution would be free to admit, without approval of the commission, additional foreign students on merit, subject to a maximum of 20% of the strength of admitted domestic students.