Higher Education

Higher Education

Students explore their potential as leaders

PUBLISH DATE 19th September 2017

Dr Kalmadi Shamarao High School Ganeshnagar recently hosted an inter-school residential student leadership conference (SLC) on the theme `Me to We: Igniting the Spirit of Leadership' to nurture a vision of effective leadership among children.

Members of the student council and others registered for the conference. Six students from each school from Standard IX and X participated in the two-day event.

As many as 60 students from 10 schools from Pune and Aurangabad -Abhinav Vidy Symbiosis High School, Vidya Valley, GG International School, Clover Da le School Aurangabad, City Pride Nigdi, KHSGaneshnagar and Aundh, New India School and Kannada Medium School of Dr Kalmadi Shamarao High School -participated in the event.

Speakers like Viraj Kalyani, Trishla Talera, Hrishikesh Pawar and Mohan Sathe delivered speeches at the opening ceremony in `Ted Talk' format.

Principal Pallavi Naik said this conference helped the par ticipants to explore their potential as leaders.

`Tejomay' concludes on a high note

The tenth edition of the Tejomay interschool competitions was recently hosted by DES Secondary School. As many as 15 city schools participated in group discussion, Tshirt painting and quiz. The topic for the final round of the group discussion was `Should we go in for open book system in the examinations?' The quiz was conducted by Ruchik More, Anurag Gangras and Anvay Karmarkar. Symbiosis School teams won the first and second prizes, along with the rolling trophy . Mananki Kasture of SPM School bagged the first prize in group discussion, while Dhanashree Khurade from RMD Sinhgad School was the winner in the T-shirt painting competition.

VPEMS bags laurels in taluka school games

Vidya Pratishthan's English Medium School, Baramati, bagged laurels in the talukalevel school games. Nivedita Hipparkar from the school stood third in the girls' under-14 category in wrestling held at Krida Sankul, Baramati. Kalpesh Hipparkar bagged first position in the boys' under-17 category .